Back to top

Marshall

Marshall Team

Gary St. Aubin, CPA, Partner

A graduate of Southwest State University in Marshall, Gary has been in public accounting since 1982. He became a partner with the firm in 1994. His areas of professional interest and specialty include personal and business income tax planning and preparation, business and governmental auditing, and other small business advisory services. Gary is also involved with the firm's recent expansion into the wind industry providing consulting, income tax, and accounting services to projects in southwest Minnesota.

Gary@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Patrick Louwagie, CPA, Partner

A graduate of Southwest State University in Marshall, Pat has been in public accounting since 1983. He became a partner with the firm in 1996. His areas of professional interest include personal, partnership and corporate tax preparation, personal financial planning and not-for-profit auditing. His specialties include farm and agriculture related taxation issues, including the ever-expanding wind industry. Since 1999, Pat has been involved with a number of small to mid-size wind projects as a development and operational consultant, tax advisor, and financial auditor.

Pat@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Barry Evenstad, CPA, Partner

A graduate of Mankato State University in Mankato, Barry has been in public accounting since 1981. He became a partner with the firm in 1994. His areas of professional interest and specialty include personal and business income tax preparation, business and governmental auditing and he specializes in Ag planning and tax preparation. He is also a retirement plan administer.

Barry@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Lisa Zmeskal, CPA, Partner

As a graduate of Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, Lisa began her professional career in governmental auditing. After ten years in the governmental environment, she entered the public accounting sector in 1998. She became a partner with the firm in 2014, and is responsible for the firm’s audit division and quality control department. Her areas of professional interest and expertise include governmental and business auditing; accounting services; and non-profit, corporate, and personal tax preparation.

Lisa@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Eric Eben, CPA, Partner

A graduate of Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa, Eric has been in public accounting since 1999. He become a partner with the firm in 2014, and is responsible for the firm’s accounting and income tax department. His areas of professional interest include personal, partnership, corporate and farm tax preparation along with governmental and business auditing. Eric also dedicates a substantial amount of time to various accounting and tax issues in the wind industry division of our firm.

Eric@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Brian Hoffman, CPA, MBA - Retired in 2012

A founding partner, Brian has been in public accounting since 1967. He graduated from the College of St. Thomas and received a masters in business administration from St. Cloud State College. He co-founded the partnership in 1972 taking over from his father, Lee Hoffman. Professional interest include individual, partnership, corporate, fiduciary income tax planning and preparation along with business and succession planning. He is involved in estate planning and the preparation of estate tax returns. He became a certified specialist in estate planning in 1999.

Brian@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

John Brobst, CPA – Retired in 2011

A graduate of the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls, Iowa, John has been in public accounting since 1968. He co-founded Hoffman & Brobst with Brian Hoffman in 1972. His areas of professional interest include business income tax planning and preparation, retirement planning and administration. He became a certified financial planner in 1992.

John@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Marlene Verdoes, CPA

A graduate of Southwest State University in Marshall, Marlene has been in public accounting since 1983 and is currently a tax and audit manager with the firm. Her areas of professional interest include personal, partnership, corporate and farm tax preparation along with governmental and business auditing.

Marlene@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Sharon Klein

Sharon is a graduate of the accounting program at Willmar Technical College. She joined the firm in 1983. She is our computer systems administrator and a Quickbooks Professional Advisor. Her areas of professional interest include personal and business income tax preparation, payroll tax and sales tax preparation as well as financial statement preparation.

Sharon@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Dan Vandendriessche, CPA

A graduate of St. John’s University, Dan has been in public accounting since 1981 when he joined the firm. His areas of professional interest include personal, partnership, corporate and farm tax preparation.

Dan@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Lynn Miller

Lynn is a graduate of Nettleton Business College in Sioux Falls, SD. She began her career as an office manager/office accountant for an insurance agency before joining the firm in 2006. Her areas of professional interest include corporate, partnership, farm, individual and payroll tax preparation as well as bookkeeping services.  She is also a Retirement Plan Administrator with the firm.

Lynn@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Jean Schueller

A graduate of the clerical program at Alex Vo-Tech School, Jean has been with the firm since 1979. She is a payroll specialist for H & B Payroll Solutions.

Jean@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Jean Henle

A graduate of the College of St. Benedict, Jean joined Hoffman & Brobst in 1994. Jean is the administrative assistant for the firm.

Jeanh@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Margaret Gollmer

Margaret@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Deb Buysse

Deb@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Tamara Deutz, CPA

A graduate of Dakota State University, Tamara joined the firm in 2011. Her areas of professional interest include personal, partnership, corporate, and farm tax preparation. She is also getting involved with governmental and business auditing.

Tamara@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Douglas Fischer

A graduate from North Dakota State University, Douglas joined the firm in 2014. He grew up on a farm West of Marshall. His area of professional interest includes tax preparation. He is currently studying for the CPA exam.

Doug@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Heidi Karlstad

Heidi joined the firm in the summer of 2015 as the receptionist/administrative assistant. Heidi handles the telephone duties and greeting/assisting clients.

Heidi@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Carlton Johnson, CPA

A graduate from Southwest Minnesota State University. Carlton joined the firm in 2016. He grew up on a farm near Pipestone. His area of professional interest includes government and business auditing and tax preparation. 

Carl@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Austin Vandendriessche

A graduate of Southwest Minnesota State University. Austin joined the firm in 2016. His area of professional interest includes tax preparation as well as business and government auditing. He is currently studying for the CPA exam.

Austin@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Kyle Krueger

As graduate of St. Cloud State University, Kyle began his career in governmental auditing. After five years in governement, he entered public accounting in 2018. His areas of professional interest include governmental and business auditing. He is also getting involved in tax preparation. He is currently studying for the CPA exam. 

Kyle@hoffmanbrobst.com

 

Chris Halloran

Chris graduated from Concordia University, St. Paul in 2017 and entered the private accounting sector. He joined the firm in 2018. His area of professional interest include government and business auditing and tax preparation. He is currently studying for the CPA exam.

Chris@hoffmanbrobst.com